Event Information:

  • Sat

    Nordic Music Days

    6:00 pmTiivistämö (Suvilahti district building n:o 5, address: Kaasutehtaankatu 1, Helsinki, Finland)


    Uusinta Ensemble will present at the Nordic Music Days 2018, Helsinki, Finland a fascinating program of the newest chamber music by some of the most interesting composers living and working in the Nordic countries. One of the highlights of our concert will be the already third performance of Tyskamossarnas sugluft by Swedish composer Ida Lundén, which was co-commissioned and premiered by Uusinta Ensemble in 2006 in Copenhagen. In this very personal work, featuring Malla Vivolin as the flute soloist, we will hear from a sound track the breathing of Ida Lundén's late father and also the inner sounds of his harmonium. In addition, five members of Uusinta Ensemble will take up the challenge of playing harmonicas besides their main instruments!

    Warmly welcome to this very special event!

    Loïc Destremau (DK): COM unTime (2015) for flute, oboe, clarinet, piano, violin, viola, violoncello and tape
    Kari Beate Tandberg (NO): Porphyry Imitations (2016) for violin and piano
    Sami Klemola (FI): Concrete (2013) for string quartet
    Adam Vilagi (FI): Hunger (2016) for string quartet
    Jouni Hirvelä (FI): Fracture Mechanics (2017) for flute/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, alto saxophone, percussion, piano, violin, viola, violoncello and stereo audio
    Ida Lundén (SE): Tyskamossarnas sugluft (2016) for flute solo, clarinet, harmonicas, piano, viola, cello, double bass and fixed electronics


    Loïc Destremau writes on his piece: "COM unTime is a hyper collage of various music genres from the western world set together to musically communicate through common material and create its own macro-sound or super- genre. The music is glued together with restless zaps and noisy gestures commonly known from commercial media (TV, radio, internet etc.) which in our time has almost become an integrated sonorous ingredient in public music. The piece plays with the control of clear references to the music genres and with a distortion parameter generating a potential unique yet ambiguous expression of micro-music-samples."

    Kari Beate Tandberg writes on her piece: "Porphyry Imitations is inspired by the volcanic rock named Rhomb porphyry. In addition to East Africa and the Antarctica, it only exists in the Oslo region where I grew up. The species has a purple-coloured matrix, with separated pigments of feldspar and quartz, as rhomb-shaped crystals or phenocrysts. The consistency is both crisp and hard, fine-grained and coarse-grained."

    Sami Klemola quotes the famous Finnish scientist, inventor, electronic instrument builder and composer Erkki Kurenniemi (1941–2017) in the program note for his piece Concrete: ”The refrigerator was silent for a while and started making noise again. Is the new noise identical, or is it not the same noise it previously was? I will take into the text a concept of an “agent” which doesn’t mean a physical sound producing element but a series of sounds that hearing links together. The sound of the refrigerator is an “agent”, that consists of sounds that follows each other in time and are called the “noise sections”. If the sound of the refrigerator has essentially changed, I consider that something has happened to the agent and its not clear that the same agent is present anymore."
    - Erkki Kurenniemi: Äänten teoria (Theory of sounds) 

    Adam Vilagi writes on his piece: "Hunger was commissioned by the Pasimusic Festival and it’s dedicated to the NeoQuartet. The two main sources of inspiration for the compositional process were a melody originated from a Hungarian children’s song, and a realistic urban novel, There Were Many Horses by Brazilian writer Luiz Ruffato."

    Jouni Hirvelä writes on his piece Fracture Mechanics: "The mechanical gestural language and somehow human and even comical askewness of broken machines was one of the compositional starting points. The work can also be interpreted as a critical comment on the so-called planned obsolescence of consumer electronics. It was a commission by Time of Music Festival and was given a premiere by Talea Ensemble."

    Ida Lundén writes on her piece Tyskamossarnas sugluft: "One summer I recorded a suction reed organ (sugluftsharmonium) in the living room of my parents (now sold) summerhouse Tyskamossarna. I have tried to let this sound of the organ move into the instruments of the flute soloist and the ensemble and embrace the audience. By being in this organ, maybe, our breathing will become a part of a larger organ."

    József Hárs, conductor
    Malla Vivolin, flute, alto flute
    Anna-Kaisa Pippuri, oboe
    Angel Molinos Bosque, clarinet, bass clarinet, harmonica
    Sikri Lehko, alto saxophone
    Petteri Kippo, percussion
    Emil Holmström, piano, harmonica
    Maria Puusaari, violin
    Aleksi Kotila, violin
    Max Savikangas, viola, harmonica
    Pinja Laine, violoncello, harmonica
    Markus Hohti, violoncello
    Aapo Juutilainen, double bass, harmonica
    Jon-Patrik Kuhlefelt, sound engineering, electronics


More concerts for season 2019 TBA soon – please visit again!

List of All Past Concerts 1999-2019 (PDF)